Piano Works

Piano Works

Series: Piano Publisher: Novello Format: Softcover Composer: Herbert Howells

This collection of 27 pieces, transcribed and edited by the Howells scholar Jonathan Clinch and published for the first time to coincide with Matthew Schellhorn's recording of the complete piano music by Howells for Naxos, reveals a previously neglected aspect of this celebrated English composer. The pieces chart the musical development of Howells, from his earliest known work “The Arab's Song,” written when he as 16, to the “Petrus Suite,” completed in his 80s, as well as demonstrating his fascination with French music (“Phantasy,” “Harlequin Dreaming”) and the Tudor period (“Pavane” and “Galliard.”) The volume also includes the moving tribute to his friend and fellow composer Finzi. Comprising a wide array of pieces from characterful miniatures to more substantial suites, the collection will appeal to Howells devotees and lovers of 20th century English music, as well as to anyone seeking fresh and distinctive piano repertoire. Includes: The Arab's Song • To a Wild Flower • Romance • Melody • Legend • Summer Idyls: I. Meadow-Rest • II. Summer-Song • III. June-Haze • IV. Down the Hills • V. Quiet Woods • VI. Near Midnight • VII. In the Morning • Phantasy • Harlequin Dreaming • Minuet for Ursula • My Lord Harewood's Galliard • Finzi: His Rest • Siciliana • “Comme le cerf soupire...” • Pavane and Galliard • Petrus Suite: Finnicle's Scherzo • Gavotte • Vagrant Flute • Minuet • 'Sine Nomine' • Bassoonic's Dance • Odd's Minuet • Toccatina

  • The Arab's Song
  • Bassoonic's Dance
  • “Comme Le Cerf Soupire...”
  • Finnicle's Scherzo
  • Finzi: His Rest
  • Gavotte
  • Legend
  • Melody
  • Minuet 'Sine Nomine'
  • Minuet For Ursula
  • My Lord Harewood's Galliard
  • Odd's Minuet
  • Pavane And Galliard, II. Galliard
  • Pavane And Galliard, I. Pavane
  • Phantasy
  • Romance
  • Siciliana
  • Summer Idyls, I. Meadow-Rest
  • Summer Idyls, II. Summer-Song
  • Summer Idyls, III. June-Haze
  • Summer Idyls, IV. Down The Hills
  • Summer Idyls, V. Quiet Woods
  • Summer Idyls, VII. In The Morning
  • Summer Idyls, VI. Near Midnight
  • To A Wild Flower
  • Toccatina
  • Vagrant Flute
  • Piano

$24.99 (US) Inventory #HL 00368695 ISBN: 9781705141779 UPC: 840126969085 Publisher Code: NOV100463 Width: 9.0" Length: 12.0" 132 pages

Prices and availability subject to change without notice.