Alchemy in Silent Spaces Full Score Steve Bryant

Alchemy in Silent Spaces Full Score Steve Bryant

  • Steve Bryant
  • Score
  • Steven Bryant
  • $40.00 (US)

This large-scale three-movement work, commissioned by Ray Cramer and the Indiana University Wind Ensemble, embodies the transformation of silence into sound. The opening movement is sparse, utilizing mallet percussion, harp, and piano to create a floating sense of timelessness. Featuring extensive solo flute, this floating texture gradually builds over several minutes, ultimately launching itself into a grandiose, warm, harmonically consonant blanket of sound. The second movement continues the focus on solo flute, and again opens slowly, gradually gaining momentum, but at a faster pace than in the first movement. The music spirals upward and outward, but instead of reaching a plateau, winds itself out and comes to a grinding halt in the upper range of the ensemble. Five brief, solemn chords conclude the movement, which immediately erupts into Movement III, music of unceasing, unsettling, motion, propelled by a driving ostinato which is repeatedly interrupted by bittersweet moments of lyricism, all the while pushing toward an unforgiving climax. The movements may also be performed separately. There is no explicit narrative to the piece, though many particular elements do have personal quasi-biographical significance. Ultimately, this is music of both personal and musical transformation.

NOTE: This work is available as a rental item directly from the composer. For details, e-mail The score is also available separately for purchase from Hal Leonard.


  • Concert Band

Product Details

  • #HL 04002119
  • 073999263251
  • 11.0"
  • 17.0"
  • 22 Pages

Prices and availability subject to change without notice.

Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Instagram Follow Us on Twitter Follow Us on TikTok Subscribe To Us on YouTube Follow Us on LinkedIn