Quartet for 2 Vibraphones and 2 Pianos Boosey & Hawkes Chamber Music Softcover

Quartet for 2 Vibraphones and 2 Pianos Boosey & Hawkes Chamber Music Softcover

  • Boosey & Hawkes Chamber Music
  • Boosey & Hawkes
  • Softcover
  • Study Score
  • Steve Reich
  • $22.99 (US)

“Quartet, when mentioned in the context of concert music, is generally assumed to mean string quartet. In my case, the quartet that has played a central role in many of my pieces (besides the string quartet) is that of two pianos and two percussion [instruments]. The piece is one of the more complex I have composed. It frequently changes key and often breaks off continuity to pause or take up new material. Though the parts are not unduly difficult, it calls for a high level of ensemble virtuosity. The form is one familiar throughout history: fast, slow, fast, played without pause. The slow movement introduces harmonies not usually found in my music. The piece is dedicated to Colin Currie, a percussionist who has broken the mold by maintaining his solo career with orchestras and recitals and also, quite amazingly, by founding the Colin Currie Group which plays whatever ensemble music he believes in. I salute him and hope others will take note.” -Steve Reich

Quartet was co-commissioned by Southbank Centre, Carnegie Hall, The Juilliard School, Cité de la musique, and Kölner Philharmonie / KölnMusik, and is approximately 17 minutes in duration.


  • Chamber Ensemble
  • Mixed Ensemble

Product Details

  • #HL 48024101
  • 9781495095986
  • 888680695262
  • M051098101
  • 6.75"
  • 10.5"
  • 80 Pages

Prices and availability subject to change without notice.

Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Instagram Follow Us on Twitter Follow Us on TikTok Subscribe To Us on YouTube Follow Us on LinkedIn