Piano Quartets

Piano Quartets

Series: Henle Music Folios Publisher: Henle Urtext Edition Format: Softcover Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Editor: Ernst Herttrich

It is hardly imaginable today, but the Viennese public of Mozart's time was unable to appreciate the beauties of Mozart's Piano Quartet K. 478. It was not accustomed to the dramatic g minor character – especially of the first movement – coming from this composer. And thus it came about that the publisher Hoffmeister refused to print any further quartets; after K. 478, Mozart wrote only the E flat major Quartet K. 493, although a series of six works had originally been planned. What a pity! Today the two piano quartets rank among the landmarks of Mozartian chamber music and continue to enjoy a great status.

  • Mozart: Quartet E flat major KV 493
  • Mozart: Quartet g minor KV 478
  • Piano Quartet

$48.95 (US) Inventory #HL 51480196 UPC: 884088173975 Publisher Code: HN196 Width: 9.25" Length: 12.25" 124 pages

Prices and availability subject to change without notice.