Organ Pieces

Organ Pieces

Series: Henle Music Folios Publisher: Henle Urtext Edition Format: Softcover Composer: Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy Editor: Wolfgang Stockmeier

Apart from his organ sonatas, Felix Mendelssohn also composed numerous other works for the king of instruments. The present volume focuses on a selection of eight works from Mendelssohn's maturity, including the three “Preludes and Fugues”, op. 37. This group of works is, without exaggeration, one of the first important organ works of the 19th century, with which Mendelssohn heralded the second era of organ music after the baroque. The editor of this Urtext edition, organ specialist Wolfgang Stockmeier, explains in his extensive preface how Mendelssohn based his polyphonic works for keyboard instruments on Handel's, rather than on Bach's, compositional technique.

  • Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Three Preludes and Fugues op. 37
  • Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Andante D major
  • Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Fuga e minor
  • Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Postlude D major
  • Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Prelude c minor
  • Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Allegro B flat major
  • Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Fughetta A major
  • Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Fuga f minor
  • Organ

$42.95 (US) Inventory #HL 51480426 UPC: 884088176198 Publisher Code: HN426 Width: 9.25" Length: 12.25" 84 pages

Prices and availability subject to change without notice.