String Quartets Op. 59, 74, 95 Study Score Henle Study Scores Softcover

String Quartets Op. 59, 74, 95 Study Score Henle Study Scores Softcover

  • Henle Study Scores
  • G. Henle Verlag
  • Softcover
  • Study Score
  • Ludwig van Beethoven
  • Paul Mies
  • $43.95 (US)

The five string quartets in this volume are generally designated as Beethoven's “middle quartets”, even though stylistically they do not all build a closed unit. More than three years lie between the inception of the three quartets op. 59 (1806) and the quartet op. 74 (1809/10). In the quartets op. 59, Beethoven sprinkled several Russian folksong themes – an homage to Prince Razumovsky, who had commissioned the works. This is why the pieces are often called the “Russian Quartets”. The next quartet, op. 74 in E flat Major, was also given a nickname: thanks to extended pizzicato passages in the first movement, it is frequently called the “Harp Quartet.” The F minor Quartet op. 95, in turn, bears in the autograph title “Quartet serioso”. All five quartets are mature masterworks which demand high interpretative and technical mastery.

Song List

  • Beethoven: Quartet C major op. 59,3 [Rasumowsky] C major op. 59,3
  • Beethoven: Quartet E minor op. 59,2 [Rasumowsky] e minor op. 59,2
  • Beethoven: Quartet E flat majeur op. 74 [Harp Quartet] E flat major op. 74
  • Beethoven: Quartet f minor op. 95
  • Beethoven: Quartet F major op. 59,1 [Rasumowsky] F major op. 59,1


  • String Quartet

Product Details

  • #HL 51489268
  • 884088183714
  • HN9268
  • 6.75"
  • 9.5"
  • 160 Pages

Prices and availability subject to change without notice.

Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Instagram Follow Us on Twitter Follow Us on TikTok Subscribe To Us on YouTube Follow Us on LinkedIn