About Us | Press Releases | Jobs | Calendar | Copyright | Dealer Access
Hal Leonard Logo
Classical only? Yes No Advanced Search
Click to view all Hal Leonard Product Categories
How to Order | Help | Shopping Cart | Wish List | My Library | Contact Us
Reflections on the Mississippi
for Tuba and Symphonic Band
Series: Michael Daugherty Music
Publisher: Michael Daugherty Music
Format: Softcover
Full Score
Composer: Michael Daugherty
Level: 5-6

Reflections on the Mississippi (2015) for tuba and symphonic band was commissioned and premiered by the University of Michigan Symphony Band, conducted by Michael Haithcock, with Carol Jantsch, tuba (Philadelphia Orchestra), at the University of Michigan Hill Auditorium in Ann Arbor on February 6, 2015. The concerto, composed in memory of his father, Willis Daugherty (1929-2011), is a musical reflection on family trips during Michael's childhood to the Mississippi River near McGregor, Iowa. In July and October 2012, Daugherty returned to the Mississippi River to make two road trips along the “Great River Road” from McGregor to Hannibal, Missouri to collect musical ideas. The result is one of the composer's most poignant and powerful musical works to date. In this 22-minute tuba concerto, Daugherty has created a unique sound world that brilliantly captures and reflects the “sound and the fury” of the Mississippi River. The tuba soloist plays soulful melodies, jarring rhythms, prayerful chants and a New Orleans “second line” that propels the concerto to a virtuosic conclusion.


The number of players doubling each part is at the conductor's discretion, but should be in keeping with a balanced sound. One player per part recommended unless otherwise indicated.

Solo Tuba


2 Flutes

2 Oboes

English Horn

4 Bb Clarinets

Bb Bass Clarinet

2 Bassoons


Bb Soprano Saxophone

Eb Alto Saxophone

Bb Tenor Saxophone

Eb Baritone Saxophone

3 C or Bb Trumpets (straight metal mute; harmon mute, stem out)

4 F Horns

3 Trombones (1st/2nd Tenor, 3rd Bass; straight metal mute)

2 Euphoniums (straight metal mute)

Contrabass (1 or 2 players, 2 preferred)


Timpani (4 or 5 drums; 32“, 29”, 26“, 23”, 20)

Percussion (3 players; instruments are not shared):

1. Glockenspiel, Crotales (D, F, A, C), Xylophone, Small Tambourine, Vibraslap, Mark Tree

2. Vibraphone, Suspended Cymbal, Washboard, Woodblock, Bell Tree, Whip

3.Marimba (4 octaves), Snare Drum, Kick Drum, Castanets, Triangle, Chimes, Concert Bass Drum, Vibraslap
View Instrumentation
65.00 (US)
Inventory #HL 04004652
UPC: 888680607975
Width: 9.0"
Length: 12.0"
Run Time: 0:22:00
160 pages
Also Recommended:
Prices and availability subject to change without notice.
No