Works for Two Pianos 2 Pianos, 4 Hands Henle Music Folios Softcover

Works for Two Pianos 2 Pianos, 4 Hands Henle Music Folios Softcover

The great D Major sonata for two pianos, K. 488, is – of course – the absolute showpiece of this Urtext edition. The first movement opens like an operatic overture with timpani and trumpets, the Andante is a single grand melody shared between the two pianos, and the sublime rondo finale comes across like a piano concerto without orchestra. But another important work can be found in this Henle edition too: the earnest C minor fugue for two pianos K. 426, reminiscent of Handel's or Bach's great art, here in its original form from 1783. Mozart published it soon after a four-part version for string quartet, adding a beautiful, freshly composed Adagio introduction. This, in turn, has been rescored in our edition for two pianos by the brilliant musician Franz Beyer, who also has completed a performable version of Mozart's two-piano “Larghetto and Allegro” in E flat Major (a work not included in Kochel's catalog) from the surviving fragments. Two copies are required for performance of all the works in this volume.

Song List

  • Mozart: Fugue (with Adagio-Introduction K. 546, arranged for 2 Pianos by F. Beyer) c minor KV 426
  • Mozart: Larghetto and Allegro (with a supplementation by F. Beyer) E flat major KV deest
  • Mozart: Sonata D major KV 448


  • 2 Pianos, 4 Hands
  • Piano Duet

Product Details

  • #HL 51480471
  • 884088176648
  • HN471
  • 9.25"
  • 12.25"
  • 104 Pages

Prices and availability subject to change without notice.

Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Instagram Follow Us on Twitter Follow Us on TikTok Subscribe To Us on YouTube Follow Us on LinkedIn