String Quartets Volume 2 (Early Viennese Quartets)

Set of Parts

String Quartets Volume 2 (Early Viennese Quartets)

Set of Parts

Series: Henle Music Folios Publisher: Henle Urtext Edition Format: Softcover Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Editor: Wolf-Dieter Seiffert

After Volumes IV and III of the series with Mozart's complete string quartets appeared as Henle Urtext editions in early 2017 and 2019 respectively, Mozart expert Wolf-Dieter Seiffert now presents Volume II. Included are the “Early Viennese Quartets” from 1773, K. 168-173. Entries in the autograph manuscript by the composer's father Leopold, however, suggest that the ordering of the six works into a unified series of quartets was his doing. In his preface, Wolf-Dieter Seiffert shares brand-new findings on the actual chronology of the genesis of these quartets. Moreover, he succeeds in correcting what in prior editions were occasional inaccuracies in dynamics and articulation, thereby producing a new, assured musical text. With artistic input from the Armida Quartet, Volume II of the String Quartets also sets the benchmark in the Mozart Edition!


String Quartet in F Major, K. 168

String Quartet in A Major, K. 169

String Quartet in C Major, K. 170

String Quartet in E-flat Major, K. 171

String Quartet in B-flat Major, K. 172

String Quartet in D minor, K. 173

$36.95 (US) Inventory #HL 51481121 UPC: 840126946277 Publisher Code: HN1121 Width: 9.0" Length: 12.0"

Prices and availability subject to change without notice.

Follow Us