John Coltrane Plays “Coltrane Changes” C Instruments Artist Transcriptions

Taxes/VAT calculated at checkout
US iTunes, App Store, iBookstore, and Mac App Store

John Coltrane Plays “Coltrane Changes” C Instruments Artist Transcriptions

In the late 1950s, John Coltrane composed or arranged a series of tunes that used chord progressions based on a series of key center movements by thirds, rather than the usual fourths and fifths of standard progressions. This sound is so aurally identifiable and has received so much attention from jazz musicians that it has become known as “Coltrane's Changes.” This book presents an exploration of his changes by studying 13 of his arrangements, each containing Coltrane's unique harmonic formula. It includes complete solo transcriptions with extensive performance notes for each. Titles include: Body and Soul • But Not for Me • Central Park West • Countdown • Fifth House • Giant Steps • Summertime • and more.

Song List

  • Body And Soul
  • But Not For Me
  • Central Park West
  • Countdown
  • Exotica
  • Fifth House
  • Giant Steps
  • Grand Central
  • Limehouse Blues
  • The Night Has A Thousand Eyes
  • Satellite
  • Summertime
  • 26-2

Download the Digital Sheet Music for John Coltrane Plays “Coltrane Changes”.


  • C Instruments

Product Details

  • #HL 00672493
  • 9780634038648
  • 073999724936
  • 9.0"
  • 12.0"
  • 88 Pages

Prices and availability subject to change without notice.

Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Instagram Follow Us on Twitter Follow Us on TikTok Subscribe To Us on YouTube Follow Us on LinkedIn