Claude Debussy – Sonata for Flute, Viola and Harp

Claude Debussy – Sonata for Flute, Viola and Harp

Series: Henle Music Folios Publisher: Henle Urtext Edition Score & Parts Composer: Claude Debussy Editor: Peter Jost

The middle work in the three late chamber music sonatas was composed in spring 1915, directly after the cello sonata (HN 633). The innivative combination of sounds – a wind instrument, a stringed instrument, and a plucked instrument – greatly contributes to the impression of restrained melancholy. Debussy himself confirmed it, saying: “It is terribly sad. And I do not know whether one should laugh or cry about it? Perhaps both at the same?” On another occasion he emphasized the similarities with his own compositional style of the 1890s, remarking of the sonata: “It reminds me of a very old Claude Debussy – the one of the Nocturnes.”

  • Flute
  • Harp
  • Viola

$50.95 (US) Inventory #HL 51481026 UPC: 884088674687 Publisher Code: HN1026 Width: 9.25" Length: 12.25" 76 pages

Prices and availability subject to change without notice.