Sonata for Violin and Piano

Sonata for Violin and Piano

Series: Henle Music Folios Publisher: Henle Urtext Edition Format: Softcover Composer: Claude Debussy Editor: Ernst-Günter Heinemann

Debussy had intended to write a cycle comprising six sonatas. However, as he was seriously ill, he was forced to conclude it with the third one. Whereas the Sonata for Cello and Piano and the one for Flute, Viola and Harp were quickly written in 1915, an unusually fruitful compositional year, the violin sonata posed difficulties for the composer in the following year. He struggled with the finale in particular, and was only able to send the work to the publisher Durand in April 1917. Its difficult genesis is soon forgotten when one listens to the resulting work: it displays perfect classicism and is full of life, as the composer himself remarked.

  • Piano Accompaniment
  • Violin

$26.95 (US) Inventory #HL 51480410 UPC: 884088176037 Publisher Code: HN410 Width: 9.25" Length: 12.25" 36 pages

Prices and availability subject to change without notice.