String Quartets, Vol. IV, Op. 20 (Sun Quartets)

String Quartets, Vol. IV, Op. 20 (Sun Quartets)

Series: Henle Study Scores Publisher: Henle Urtext Edition Format: Softcover Study Score Composer: Joseph Haydn Editors: Sonja Gerlach, Georg Feder

This study edition complements the parts of the String Quartets op. 20 that have already been published in Henle Urtext (HN 208); a new preface by Christin Heitmann provides illuminating background information. Haydn did not assign the nickname “Sun Quartets”: it alludes to an edition of the time, in which the title page was decorated with a rising sun. The Quartets op. 20 are the last series in a group of earlier string quartets, but are clearly ahead of their time. The demanding fugues which close three of the six quartets are a particular structural feature.

  • String Quartet

$35.95 (US) Inventory #HL 51489208 UPC: 884088409609 Publisher Code: HN9208 Width: 6.75" Length: 9.5" 116 pages

Prices and availability subject to change without notice.

Follow Us