Andalag #1

Duo for Flute and Clarinet

Andalag #1

Duo for Flute and Clarinet

Please note: this is a priority direct import item that will ship directly from our Hal Leonard Europe warehouse overseas. Please see or call your favorite retailer to place your order.

Series: Music Sales America Publisher: Wilhelm Hansen Edition Format: Softcover PLAYING SCORE Composer: Sunleif Rasmussen

Andalag # 1 - Duo for Flute and Clarinet (2011). Part of Andalag - Suite in 11 movements.Programme note:

Some years ago I was asked by the Faroese ensemble Aldubáran to compose duets for the woodwinds within the ensemble. The idea then came to me to write a Suite with the name “Andalag” in 11 movements. 8 movements are duets and are approximately 4 min. long. 2 movements are quartets and are approximately 8 min. long, and 1 movement is an octet which is approximately 16 min. long. In other words, the Suite will last approximately 60 min.

The (octet) instrumentation is 2 flutes, 2 clarinets, 2 horns and 2 bassoons.

The Faroese word “andalag” has a multilayerd meaning. The first half of the word is “anda” and means to breath or spirit, and the second half of the word “lag” means melodi, mood or layer.

I use two small ideas in this Suite. One idea is in a sort of major mood and the other in a sort of minor mood.

Sunleif Rasmussen, May 2013

  • Woodwind Duet

$16.90 (US) Inventory #HL 00288111 Publisher Code: WH31433 Run time: 0:04:00 16 pages

Prices and availability subject to change without notice.