Suite from Hymn of the Highlands

Grade 4 - Score and Parts

Suite from Hymn of the Highlands

Grade 4 - Score and Parts

Please note: this is a priority direct import item that will ship directly from our Hal Leonard Europe warehouse overseas. Please see or call your favorite retailer to place your order.

Series: Anglo Music Concert Band Publisher: Anglo Music Press Composer: Philip Sparke

Level: 4

The original version of Hymn of the Highlands for brass band comprises seven movements, all named after locations in the Scottish Highlands. It was from this work that the composer created this three-movement suite for concert band

1. Ardross Castle (named for a small village in Easter Ross, just north of the Cromarty Firth) starts with solos from clarinet and bassoon (or euphonium) before a bagpipe-type tune is introduced. A faster central section uses the opening material in a different guise but the movement ends slowly.

Alladale (the river Alladale is a tributary of the Carron, which leads out into the Dornoch Firth on the east coast) is a saxophone trio with an accompaniment that features percussion. This leads to the finale, Dundonnell (named after a charming village at the head of Little Loch Broom), which starts in martial mood but soon breaks out into a wild presto. Eventually the bagpipe tune from the first movement returns before the presto crashes to a close.

Summer Isles (euphonium solo with concert band - HL44006941) is also available separately and can be added to the suite to form a longer work.

  • Concert Band

$294.00 (US) Inventory #HL 44004495 UPC: 073999044959 Publisher Code: AMP047 Width: 9.0" Length: 12.0"

Prices and availability subject to change without notice.