Works for Two Pianos 2 Pianos, 4 Hands Henle Music Folios Softcover

Works for Two Pianos 2 Pianos, 4 Hands Henle Music Folios Softcover

The great D Major sonata for two pianos, K. 488, is – of course – the absolute showpiece of this Urtext edition. The first movement opens like an operatic overture with timpani and trumpets, the Andante is a single grand melody shared between the two pianos, and the sublime rondo finale comes across like a piano concerto without orchestra. But another important work can be found in this Henle edition too: the earnest C minor fugue for two pianos K. 426, reminiscent of Handel's or Bach's great art, here in its original form from 1783. Mozart published it soon after a four-part version for string quartet, adding a beautiful, freshly composed Adagio introduction. This, in turn, has been rescored in our edition for two pianos by the brilliant musician Franz Beyer, who also has completed a performable version of Mozart's two-piano “Larghetto and Allegro” in E flat Major (a work not included in Kochel's catalog) from the surviving fragments. Two copies are required for performance of all the works in this volume.

Song List

  • Mozart: Fugue (with Adagio-Introduction K. 546, arranged for 2 Pianos by F. Beyer) c minor KV 426
  • Mozart: Larghetto and Allegro (with a supplementation by F. Beyer) E flat major KV deest
  • Mozart: Sonata D major KV 448


  • 2 Pianos, 4 Hands
  • Piano Duet

Product Details

  • #HL 51480471
  • 884088176648
  • HN471
  • 9.25"
  • 12.25"
  • 104 Pages

Prices and availability subject to change without notice.

Follow Us