Piano Pieces Op. 119 Revised Edition

Piano Pieces Op. 119 Revised Edition

Series: Henle Music Folios Publisher: Henle Urtext Edition Format: Softcover Composer: Johannes Brahms Editor: Katrin Eich

Fingering by Andreas Boyde

Johannes Brahms' summer sojourn in 1893 in Bad Ischl was productive. Alongside the pieces op. 118, he also wrote his last cycle of piano pieces, opus 119. The composer wrote to Clara Schumann of the opening work, saying that it was teeming with dissonances and that: “every measure and every note must sound like a ritardando, as if one wanted to suck the melancholy out of each single one, with lust and pleasure out of the aforementioned dissonances!” Yet opus 119 contains something for every mood: No. 3 surprises with its lively and light C major, and the cycle is completed with the defiant rhapsody in E flat major. Our revised edition, based on the Brahms Complete Edition, is an invitation to pianists to rediscover Brahms' complex cosmos.

  • Piano

$13.95 (US) Inventory #HL 51481250 UPC: 888680088736 Publisher Code: HN1250 Width: 9.25" Length: 12.25" 24 pages

Prices and availability subject to change without notice.

Follow Us