String Quartets Volume Iv (4) Henle Music Folios Softcover

String Quartets Volume Iv (4) Henle Music Folios Softcover

  • Henle Music Folios
  • G. Henle Verlag
  • Softcover
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  • $38.95 (US)

Finally, the time has come: over the next few years all of Mozart's 26 string quartets will be published by Henle in an Urtext edition of both score and parts. All previous editions have left much to be desired, for example as concerns the correct placement of dynamic markings. Our edition, made with the artistic collaboration of the Armida Quartet, draws upon the large body of modern knowldge concerning Mozart philology and performance practice. We begin with what are, chronologically speaking, the final four quartets: the so-called “Hoffmeister” Quartet, K. 499, and the three “Prussian” Quartets, K. 575, 589, and 590. It is possible that the impulse behind the composition of these last three works was the Prussian King Friedrich Wilhelm II, who was an excellent cellist. Modern cellists will find many beautiful melodies to enjoy in them.

“This splendid new edition has been sourced from the autograph score held in the British Library in London and from parts in the Austrian National Library in Vienna. No note has been left unturned in Henl's meticulously researched urtext publication.” –Strings magazine

Product Details

  • #HL 51481123
  • 888680684211
  • HN1123
  • 9.25"
  • 12.25"

Prices and availability subject to change without notice.

Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Instagram Follow Us on Twitter Follow Us on TikTok Subscribe To Us on YouTube Follow Us on LinkedIn