A Walk in an Irish Garden for Flute and Piano Southern Music Woodwind Softcover

A Walk in an Irish Garden for Flute and Piano Southern Music Woodwind Softcover

  • Southern Music Woodwind
  • Southern Music Co.
  • Softcover
  • James Galway
  • David Overton
  • $13.99 (US)

This collection of songs were written and arranged for Sir James Galway as concert pieces by David Overton, his longtime arranger. They are all based to some extent on traditional Irish Melodies. The first three are contrasting tunes: “Spinning Song,” the beautiful slow melody “She moved through the fair,” and the more up-tempo “Star of the County Down.” These were so successful in the original flute and piano version, as printed here, that Overton was requested to write versions for strings and for orchestra, which were equally successful and have formed a regular part of Galway's concert repertoire. “Badinereelerie” is more light-hearted work, first written for Sir James Galway in 1984. Since then, he has played it countless times as printed here, and in a version for flute and orchestra. The surprising mixture of Bach (and Handel and others) with reels and Irish traditional tunes, and even a few English traditional tunes thrown in for good measure, has delighted audiences all over the world. The piece's rousing conclusion includes an optional switch to penny whistle, a practice that Galway writes, “I have always taken advantage of.”


  • Flute
  • Piano Accompaniment

Product Details

  • #HL 00298120
  • 9781581066531
  • 888680950897
  • B586
  • 9.0"
  • 12.0"
  • 0:10:00
  • 16 Pages

Prices and availability subject to change without notice.

Follow Us on Facebook Follow Us on Instagram Follow Us on Twitter Follow Us on TikTok Subscribe To Us on YouTube Follow Us on LinkedIn