String Quartet E Flat Major Op. 127

String Quartet E Flat Major Op. 127

Series: Henle Music Folios Publisher: Henle Urtext Edition Format: Softcover Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven Editor: Emil Platen

The E-flat Major String Quartet, Op. 127, is a key work not only in Beethoven's Oeuvre but in the entire history of the genre. The first of the late quartets, it “transfers the formal and symbolic aspects of his two major works for chorus and orchestra [the Missa solemnis and the Ninth Symphony] to the more intimate domain of chamber music” (William Kinderman). For years, music lovers have been waiting for a new edition based on the scholarly text from the new Beethoven Gesamtausgabe. The wait has paid off! The highly complex source situation was examined for the first time and thus Beethoven's “final intentions” are now available in an urtext edition. The set of parts (HN 740) and the score (HN 9740) both come with a detailed preface and editorial notes.

  • String Quartet

$35.95 (US) Inventory #HL 51480740 UPC: 884088178543 Publisher Code: HN740 Width: 9.25" Length: 12.25" 82 pages

Prices and availability subject to change without notice.

Follow Us